Tag Archives: UMN

Hasselgren Brothers tendered by Brahmas


NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TEXAS — The Lone Star Brahmas tendered brothers Malte and Philip Hasselgren from Swedish hockey team Falu IF, the team announced Sunday. The pair hail from Gävle, Sweden and have played extensively within the Falu IF organization.

Malte Hasselgren, a seventeen-year-old center, leads the team in points with 25 (10 goals, 15 assists) in 20 games played. The older of the two skaters, Philip, is a 6’1 defenseman who tallied 18 assists in 24 games. The brothers hold first and second place in the team rankings for assists.

“We’re really excited to have them join the squad for the upcoming season,” said Lone Star Brahmas head coach Dan Wildfong. “Both players have proven they can be dynamic players and be an asset to the team with their scoring ability.”

The Brahmas main camp kicks off on July 30.

Sydney Johnson is a media and content intern with the Lone Star Brahmas. ###


NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TEXAS — The Lone Star Brahmas had an electric 2019-20 season.

The team powered through opponents while maintaining their position at the top of the NAHL.

Take a look back at some of the highlights of last season by the numbers.

1 – The Lone Star Brahmas sat first in the NAHL league standings at the end of the 2019-20 season, holding a record of 42-9-1-1.

2 – Two Brahmas goalies had the top-two places in the league in GAA; Cayden Bailey (1.32) and Ludvig Persson (1.56). Both netminders were in their rookie seasons.

3 – The number of hat tricks scored by forward Joey Baez (Nov. 2, Jan. 3, Jan. 4)


6 – Six skaters recorded over 30 points during the 2019-20 season: Matt Guerra (18g-45a), Joey Baez (32g-26a), Thomas Daskas (19g-29a), Eric Huss (6g-37a), Michal Stinil (20g-21a) and Sam Brennan (10g-20a).

11 – Goalie Cayden Bailey tied the franchise record for single-season shutouts with 11. The record was set by Mitchell Gibson in the 2017-18 season.


11 – Eleven 2019-20 Lone Star Brahmas players (Joey Baez, Cole Bielke, Sam Brennan, Luke Burke, Drew DeCarlo, Mitchell Digby, Stefan Miklakos, Patriks Ozols, Malcolm Palmer, Dylan Smith and Joey Trazzera) are eligible to return for the 2020-21 season.

13 – The 2019-20 season marked Head Coach Dan Wildfong’s thirteenth season at the helm of the Brahmas.

14 – The team went on a 14 game win streak between Dec. 14 and Feb. 9.

15 – Fifteen Brahmas on the roster committed to various NCAA collegiate hockey programs, including Joey Baez (Army), Cayden Bailey (Michigan Tech University), Sam Brennan (Air Force Academy), Thomas Daskas (Air Force Academy), Mitchell Digby (Air Force Academy), Matt Guerra (Robert Morris University), Eric Huss (Army), Josh Martin (University of Alaska-Anchorage), Stefan Miklakos (Army), Ludvig Persson (Miami University), Matt Rickard (American International College), Noah Roofe (University of Wisconsin – River Falls), Michal Stinil (American International College), Will Stromp (St. Norbert College) and CJ Walker (University of Wisconsin – Superior).

28 – The squad went 23-5 in 28 games played at home in front of the crowd at NYTEX Sports Centre.

32 – Forward Joey Baez led the league in goals scored with 32.

45 – Forward Matt Guerra tied the league lead in assists with 45 apples.

76 – The team had a win percentage of 76% (19-6) for games played on the road.

93.8 – The Brahmas led the league in penalty kill percentage with a value of 93.8%.

109 – Three players commanded the top places in league +/- in Eric Huss (+38), Joey Baez (+37) and Patriks Ozols (+34) for a combined total of +109.

190 – The team scored 190 goals in 53 games played, leading the league with a 0.811 scoring percentage.

257 – The Lone Star Brahmas closed out the season with an all-time franchise record of 257-113-22-10.

500+Wildfong notched his landmark 500th Brahmas win in November.



Sydney Johnson is a media and content intern with the Lone Star Brahmas.