College Commitment: Sterzer to play for Lindenwood University

NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TEXAS — Brahmas forward Caige Sterzer has committed to play NCAA Division I hockey at Lindenwood University, the player announced Monday.

“I am beyond excited and honoured to have received a scholarship from Lindenwood University,” said Sterzer, regarding his commitment. “No words can describe how thankful I am for this opportunity and for all the support I have been given from the Lonestar Brahmas organization, my family, billets, friends, teammates and coaches along the way. I would not be where I am today without all the close people in my life. I can’t wait to put on the Lion’s uniform, but that being said, there is still a job to be done this season.”

In 19 games played, Sterzer records six points (3g-3a). A Kimberly, British Columbia native, the forward is a known enforcer and willing to defend his teammates on the ice. Sterzer developed in the BCHL before crossing into the North American Hockey league, playing 154 games and tallying 56 points (16g-40a) for the Surrey Eagles and Alberni Valley Bulldogs. 

“On behalf of the Lone Star Brahmas, we are thrilled for Caige and his family,” said assistant coach of the Lone Star Brahmas, Andrew Whiteside. “Ever since Caige has stepped foot in Lone Star, he has continued to develop day in and day out. Lindenwood is getting a terrific hockey player and an even better young man! We look forward to following Caige and his career at the Division I level over the course of the next four years.”

Sterzer is the first Brahma to commit to Lindenwood’s Division I program, with alums Nick Blase (2013-14) and Andy Willis (2016-18) suiting up for the university’s ACHA program. Currently, the team is 15-1-0 (W-L-OTL) in the 2020-21 season and just won their fourth consecutive Central States Collegiate Hockey League championship on March 29.

Sterzer is the sixth NCAA commitment from the 2020-21 roster, along with Nicholas Niemo (Bentley University), Zach Purcell (American International College), Andrew DeCarlo (Air Force Academy), Rico DiMatteo (Northern Michigan University) and Luke Johnson (Lake Superior State University). In the 2019-20 season, the Lone Star Brahmas led the NAHL in player commitments with 16.