Back And Forth

CORPUS CHRISTI, TX – The Brahmas trip to the beach got off to an early start but it wasn’t an exceptional one, falling to the IceRays 4-3 in overtime on Thursday.

Corpus Christi opened the scoring in the first period when the Brahmas allowed their first short-handed goal of the season.  A rare turnover on a point-to-point pass from Cam Clarke was intercepted by Jimmy O’Brien and taken all the way to the house for a breakaway goal.

Minutes later Martin Mellberg knotted things up at one on an incredible patience play and outlasted Graham Hunt to conclude the first period.

Early in the second frame Brahmas forward Kyle Patava sustained an upper body injury and did not return.  He will not play the remainder of the weekend.

In what would be continued as back-and-forth play, the IceRays scored next when their hottest forward Brad Power put back a rebound to beat O’Brien, making things 2-1.

Later in the second frame Alex Berardinelli scored his team-leading 8th of the season to bring things back to even.

The IceRays would not be finished with scoring in the second however as Simon Butala struck gold with his first NAHL goal to push the score to 3-2 heading into the locker room.

Moments before the break Bud Madej engaged in an ITS Tactical fight with IceRays captain Brad LeLievre that got both teams and the American Bank Center fired up.

Lone Star dominated the early portion of the period but it wasn’t until six minutes were left when Peter Kessel continued his hot streak sliding one past Graham Hunt to knot the score up once again, this time at 3.

Overtime was necessary and the IceRays took their turn in the scoring frenzy when a puck in the slot found it’s way to Drake Lindsay who caught O’Brien down and out along with two Brahmas defenders, submitting the puck into the back of the cage to secure the win.

Despite the overtime loss, the Brahmas have now recorded a point in ten straight games, holding a current record of 11-1-4.

The two teams will see each other once again Friday and Saturday at 7:11 P.M. for the final two contests of the three game set.