NAHL announces teams, divisional alignment for 2014-15 season

FRISCO, TEXAS – The North American Hockey League (NAHL) has announced its teams and divisional alignment for the 2014-15 season.  The 24-team league will be divided into four divisions (Central, Midwest, North, South) spanning 11 states.

The only changes for the 2014-15 season from the 2013-14 season include: the Port Huron Fighting Falcons relocating to Connellsville, Pennsylvania to become the Keystone Ice Miners, remaining in the North Division, and the Wenatchee Wild will move from the Midwest Division to the South Division.

"The NAHL and its governors have been successful in growing their markets, particularly in the last four years, to a point where they become very sustainable under our current model with the tremendous help and support of their local communities,” said NAHL Commissioner Mark Frankenfeld. “The strategy to acquire better markets, better ownership groups and to improve the business plan is working. We have a lot of work still to do, but the NAHL has come along way in a short period of time and that is good news to the players that play and develop in the NAHL.”

Celebrating its 39th season in 2014-15, the NAHL is the oldest junior hockey league in the United States and one of only two that operate under the non pay-to-play model.  The NAHL is also one of the best at advancing players to collegiate and/or professional hockey.  So far during the 2013-14 season, the NAHL has over 140 NCAA commitments and over 100 alumni were playing in the NHL this past season.

Five (5) teams will compete in the Central Division: the Aberdeen Wings, Austin Bruins, Bismarck Bobcats, Brookings Blizzard and Minot Minotauros.

Five (5) teams will play in the Midwest Division: the Coulee Region Chill, Fairbanks Ice Dogs, Kenai River Brown Bears, Minnesota Magicians and Minnesota Wilderness.

Six (6) teams will compete in the North Division: the Janesville Jets, Johnstown Tomahawks, Keystone Ice Miners, Michigan Warriors, Soo Eagles and Springfield Jr. Blues.

In the South Division, eight (8) teams will compete: the Amarillo Bulls, Corpus Christi IceRays, Lone Star Brahmas, Odessa Jackalopes, Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees, Topeka RoadRunners, Wenatchee Wild and Wichita Falls Wildcats.

2014-15 NAHL Divisional Alignment


Central Division

Midwest Division

North Division

South Division

Aberdeen Wings (SD)

Coulee Region Chill (WI)

Janesville Jets (WI)

Amarillo Bulls (TX)

Austin Bruins (MN)

Fairbanks Ice Dogs (AK)

Johnstown Tomahawks (PA)

Corpus Christi IceRays (TX)

Bismarck Bobcats (ND)

Kenai River Brown Bears (AK)

Keystone Ice Miners (PA)

Lone Star Brahmas (TX)

Brookings Blizzard (SD)

Minnesota Magicians (MN)

Michigan Warriors (MI)

Odessa Jackalopes (TX)

Minot Minotauros (ND)

Minnesota Wilderness (MN)

Soo Eagles (MI)

Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees (TX)



Springfield Jr. Blues (IL)

Topeka RoadRunners (KS)




Wenatchee Wild (WA)

Wichita Falls Wildcats (TX)